Wanted: Inspiration

National Novel Writing Month is one week away and I’m pulling my hair out, writhing on the floor, and scrambling between the rooms in my head to figure out what I’m going to write. I dream of telling stories that change the world–stories that impact a reader, share with readers an experience they won’t forget, and forge the kind of relationships I recall building between book bindings as I grew up and discovered who I wanted to be.

And I’d like to invite you along on this journey.

If you’ve never heard of National Writing Month–more commonly called NaNoWriMo–it’s an annual challenge to new and beginnings writers alike to write 50,000 words in the month of November. (They certainly didn’t have college schedules in mind when they decided this, but I’ve come to live with it!) I dream of being a well-known author someday, a role model and source of inspiration like JRR Tolkien and JK Rowling, and NaNoWriMo has been my opportunity every year to do something wholly selfish and just for me: to indulge myself in my passion for writing, making it my first priority over everything else in my life.

And it’s always a wild, insane adventure. But I love it.

This is my ninth year participating, and I’m excited to keep up my consecutive winning streak (it’s also the only time I truly give into competition and strive not only to do my best, but to win). However, this time I’m switching things up, and instead of writing a single story, I’m writing thirty–thirty stories that I can share with you.

My hope for Silent Soliloquy–my fiction and poetry blog–has always been to share stories regularly, but school keeps me so busy I don’t have time to write and edit my pieces until I’m proud enough to share them. So now I’m dedicating my 50,000 words to you–my readers–and I want you to help inspire me. What kind of stories do you like to read? What kind of adventures do you want to go on? What kind of people do you want to meet?

I encourage comments, of course, but I also want to show you my Inspire Me page, where I encourage readers and other community members to give me a prompt that I can turn into a story to be published on my blog–and the best part is I’ll even dedicate it to you!

There is nothing more amazing to me than writing, and no greater way I can show gratitude than by taking a spark of inspiration and crafting it into a story for my readers. In fact, some of my favorite stories have been seeded by my dearest friends, and watching them sprout and grow and gain lives of their own has been wondrous.

So will you join me?

2 thoughts on “Wanted: Inspiration

  1. I am glad to find a fellow NaNoWriMoer! I have been following your blog for a while now and have enjoyed reading your articles from time to time. I will also follow your endeavor to complete your ninth NaNoWriMo win. I will be writing my own story that I have been contemplating for many years now, with the intention of getting it out to the public. I want people to read and enjoy my stories! I’m sure you feel the same way.

    • Hi Nina May! Thank you for commenting–it’s always a great moment when I meet another WriMo, we really are a special bunch of daring, adventurous souls, and I think few who don’t do NaNoWriMo truly understand our writer spirits.

      I wish you the best of luck with your novel this year! I know a lot of people rush toward publication as soon as Dec. 1 rolls around, but from what I’ve heard, taking sufficient time to edit your story is the better way to success.

      All the best! — Darren

Join the Conversation

