On Milk and Money and Matters That Matter

A word.

As a child I detested it. Now as an adult I have come to appreciate it. I may still at times despise it, but I succumb to it nonetheless. In this word there is synthesis. Togetherness. Means and ideals.

I can’t recall any memories of importance, but I can imagine some long lost day in the second or third grade when, before Hebrew school began, my friends and I would ride the wagon down the hill behind our synagogue. Sometimes I didn’t like going down the hill. Sometimes I would much rather sit and talk on the swings.

Sometimes we did both.

At six or seven we could see that both was better.

Now as I write these words, this word rings upon the deaf ears of 535 men and women who seem to have left it on the playground when they decided to grow up and live their lives for the sake of only themselves.

I will not droll on about the so-called Fiscal Cliff that they themselves have carved before us. I shall not ramble about the farmers bill that needs to be passed to prevent the price of milk from doubling. I need not talk of taxation or budgeting and I shall not mention the lines that seem to split this aisle–an aisle, mind you, that they themselves have helped to create.

Instead I shall ask them to remember.

Remember why they’re where they are. Remember they were elected to help their constituents, to better this country, and support the welfare of the common man. Remember in them we have put our faith and our trust to lead this country and its people right and well. Remember they do not lead for themselves; they lead for us.

Remember. Remember the duty they hold to this country to do what is just and right. Remember their responsibility to each of us, to each of us who cannot change the laws to our wills but instead look to each of them to make laws that protect and foster our individual and more so our collective wellbeing.

Remember those days in kindergarten and grade school. Remember the lessons their elementary school teachers taught them, those lessons that brought different children together and turned them into friends, those lessons that allowed everyone on the playground to play together and win. Those lessons that transcend milk and money and remind us of the things that truly matter. Those lessons that shape people of character and integrity.

Character and integrity they seem to have forgotten.

So please, I beg of you, remember just this one thing.

A word.

Compromise.

Join the Conversation

