It Makes Us Smart

A week ago I was still sick. Then a little less than a week ago I finally got put on prescription drugs, which are very similar to those other medications I was thankful for, but were finally strong enough to kick out this sickness for sure. (Truth is, I’ve got some residual allergies, and my lower back still hurts although I’m not sure why, and I’ve got a bit of a cough remaining, but for the most part I feel much–much–better than I did last week.)

So now that I’ve had a week of lying in bed, reading late into the night and sleeping late into the day, it’s time to get back to life. It’s time to let life get back to me. Tomorrow starts what is technically my fifth semester of college, and let me tell you, I’m thankful for that.

27. School

It’s hard to be thankful for school when you’re in it. You get stressed out, messed up, and educated. A lot of us don’t like to be educated. It means we have to think. We have to do meaningful things. Like I’ve always said, albeit usually jokingly, life’s easier with a smaller vocabulary. Life hurts less if we know less why life hurts. And with knowledge, we all know, comes power–and power does instill responsibility. And come now, who really likes responsibility?

Just the same, I wouldn’t give up school for anything, except for perhaps graduation, which is as good a reason as any, I suppose.

When I was younger, I took for school for granted. I didn’t want to do it, but I typically did it anyways, simply because I had to. Now that I’m older (and I hate thinking about it, because it really does make me feel old), I know all the reasons why school is important, why it makes each of us who have it something privileged and (we should hope) worthy of all the power and responsibility it gives us.

I could list all the reasons, or at least a fair number of them, but you’ve heard them all before. And I like originality.

My new semester technically started on Monday. But due to snow and ice (or as the officials like to call it, inclement weather) it has been canceled every day since and delayed today, but since my eight o’clock class was killed with the delay, all my classes start tomorrow. I’ve enjoyed not having to miss any classes to recover, but I want school to start.

School gives me an opportunity to grow. It gives me a chance to live through new experiences, to meet new people, to do new things. I like that. It lets me taste so many different aspects of life I wouldn’t dream of (or necessarily know of) otherwise. It’s a blessing, and I’m so happy that I can be a part of it.

Sure, sometimes school is stressful. But let’s face it, even that helps us learn.

And yes, school sometimes hurts. With success is the fear (and at times the actuality) of failure. These are challenges and walls we all must face, and many of us probably do it without thinking about it, but that much is beyond me. I sometimes wish I could be freer about things, but I’m a bundle of chains inside and it isn’t always possible.

This semester will either be fun and bright or my worst one yet. I’ve for the first time got two math classes, multi-variable calculus and differential equations. They sound absolutely enthralling (seriously), but equally as terrifying, though perhaps not as terrifying as the electromagnetic portion of physics. Let me study relativity, but please, let me pass this class. I love the theory, at least I did in the twelfth grade, so please let me love it again. I’m also taking keyboarding, since I’d like to be able to key faster and more efficiently. I type too much not to.

And for this new chance to grow, I’m happy. I’m thankful. And with classes finally going to get underway, trust me, I’m more thankful than you realise that I’m finally ready to get started. Scary semester, here I come.

2 thoughts on “It Makes Us Smart

Join the Conversation

